wagon.gif (36386 bytes) title.gif (27277 bytes) IowaPioneers.gif (17295 bytes)
Go to
IPL Main Page
Iowa County Information

     Abolished Iowa Counties

County Named Date Formed
Parent Counties
Bancroft 1851 (abolished 1855)
Unorganized (Delaware, Polk), *Boone
Buncombe 1851 (changed to Lyon, 1861)
Cook 1836 (eliminated 1838)
Des Moines, *Muscatine
Crocker 1870 (abolished 1871)
Fox   Unorganized (Delaware, Polk)
Howard 1816 (became Missouri territory)
St. Louis, Washington, Unorganized (St. Charles)
Kishkekush 1843 (1845) (changed to Monroe, 1846)
Unorganized (Henry), *Jefferson, *Wapello
Risley 1851 (abolished 1853)
Unorganized (Delaware, Polk)
Slaughter 1838 (changed to Washington, 1839)
Henry, Louisa, Muscatine, Unorganized
Wahkaw 1851 (changed to Woodbury, 1853)
Unorganized (Delaware, Polk)
Yell 1851 (abolished 1853)
Unorganized (Delaware, Polk)

All material copyright 1996-2006, by the Iowa Genealogical Society (IGS),
except where attributed to previously copyrighted material. All rights reserved.

If you have any comments, suggestions, or if any links do not work, please notify us at igs@iowagenealogy.org.
If a link problem, please tell us exactly which link is obsolete.

Emails are handled by one very overworked volunteer.
So, it may take a while, if a response is required.
Please be patient. Thank you.